x2

Back on the topic of exercise. This time it’s the gym.

I go to the gym 3-4 times each week. For 3 of those, I do bootcamp-style group workouts. I find that knowing that I’m going to be doing a class gives me a lot more motivation to get up at 5am and show up than training by myself.

On a Wednesday though, I do my own personal workout. I don’t have particularly good strength or explosive power so that is something I’ve been working on for the last 6 weeks. I don’t have the time for more gym sessions so any progression I want to make has to be achievable in that 1hr each week.

I listened to a podcast with Ryan Flaherty who works for Nike. His theory was that the speed of an athlete directly corresponds to their max trap-bar deadlift. The idea is to build up your strength in the deadlift without adding muscle and weight. With this in mind, and the overall goal of being able to run faster/jump higher etc, I have set the goal of achieving a 2x bodyweight deadlift by the end of 2017.

I can very honestly say that I go to the gym for overall fitness/functional reasons rather than for any aesthetic goals. More than anything I want to get more flexible, fast and agile.

Leave a Reply

